I Wish I was There………….(6)

Trying to identify your favourite places in the U.K. is not easy. For No. 6 in this occasional series I am taking you back to Scotland, to the North West coast, to Scourie and because I haven’t enjoyed a proper sunset this summer I thought it would be a good excuse to enjoy one…

Disc One

High tide across Scourie Bay looking to the Scottish Wildlife Trusts Handa Island Reserve.  Here in the far north of Scotland in summer you will find the days long and the nights short and on a good day able to enjoy a tranquil sunset. 

I was told, but was sceptical until I witnessed it once and so far only once, that just as the sun falls below the horizon there is a quick FLASH of green in the suns glow.  Indeed there is but I suspect the moisture over the sea has much to do with it enabling the refraction of light to project this particular colour of the rainbow.  Try and spot it next time you have a sunset….at least it is a good excuse to stay to catch the last remaining glimpse of the days sun!

16 August

