Never Forget……

POPPIES

The SOMME 1916

100 years to the day…The Bloodiest of Battles started and would continue its slaughter through till November.  I guess we can no longer comprehend the losses, over a million lives gone for ever and others who’s  would never be able to enjoy life as they should.

The add to the tragedy, the Somme was a part of a War that would continue till 1918.

But we can remember…..yet still conflicts continue across the world, conflicts which are just as brutal and final for those involved.

1st July 2016

(C) David Oakes 2016

7 thoughts on “Never Forget……

    • We live in hard times but in many ways most of us are very lucky and it certainly doesn’t hurt to remind us that this has not always been the way….for some the trauma continue.

  1. Sometimes I awaken in the early morning hours here on the west coast of the USA, and turn on my bedside radio which is tuned to a station which streams live BBC reports. This morning it was all about the Somme. My Grandfather Low served in WWI, and lived with the effects of mustard gas the rest of his life.

    My favorite quote these days is from William Wordsworth (1770-1850)
    “Life is divided into three terms – that which was, which is, and which will be. Let us learn from the past to profit by the present, and from the present, to live better in the future.”

    • I know the quote well……I think for a time we always do learn the lessons and our lives do profit…..but eventually the profit turns to greed…..and then I wonder if we ever did really learn.
      WW1 left its mark on so many, it was so much a shock that many would not could not talk about there Military Service. I suppose today we call the Post Traumatic Stress though stress seems an understatement.

  2. Poppies are so fragile and delicate. Such an enduring image of a terrible period of history. Every post, every image, every anniversary moves me.

Comments are closed.