Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge – Week 34

freshly-brewed

The Truth can be as Strange as Fiction….

or a Real Witches Cauldron

The smell is at times overpowering, the heat tangible from a distance, the hole could go all the way to the middle of the earth….its very core.  After all these boiling sulphur mud pots do reach deep into the earth’s thermal core.

The location is Iceland and this is the area known as Namaskard.  Littered with these mud pots and streams of hot mud flowing from the surrounding hills it is surprising that in our Risk averse Health and Safety culture that tourists can wander virtually unrestricted arround these thermal springs. Tread carefully but enjoy the experience whilst you can.

I thought this would be a suitable image for Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge for this week.

See other submissions on:- https://ceenphotography.com/2016/08/24/cees-odd-ball-photo-challenge-2016-week-34/

Odd Ball

9th September

(C) David Oakes 2016

 

5 thoughts on “Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge – Week 34

  1. I too was amazed at the lack of safety barriers at potentially very dangerous places in Iceland. I didn’t visit this one, but I went to several spectacular waterfalls. I guess they must trust visiting parents to keep close watch on curious youngsters. If I’d had small, active kids with me, I probably would have considered putting leashes on them!

Comments are closed.