A Winters day ….at last

mist-and-ice

Ice on Allestree Lake….

It had to happen…we woke on Monday to a thick frost and a mist that lingered all day. For the first time this year our Lake was frozen. Not that it will last as the Forecasters reckon we have a warm but wet spell heading our way….nothing one can do about it but to wait and see what we get given.

Do you Remember the saga of the Gloves..

Perhaps not so let me remind you. Winter two years ago when out walking I kept on finding a glove.  There were enough gloves to supply an outdoor outfitter….but there was a tiny problem…a problem that sounds unbelievable.

Every glove found was a left handed glove.  Well that was true for adult gloves… whilst children’s gloves were always right handed. It was a mystery for which we found no logical answer.  After the first one or two I started to record the finds.

This last winter was, in our part of the world, very mild so I guess it was not surprising that we found no gloves.

No surprise I suppose on our first really cold winter days this year that we stumble across our first lost glove….as its an adult glove it is of course left handed!

glove-1-winter-2016-2017Is this going to be the start of another winter of multi finds ?

(Can I stress that each glove is photographed as found; carefully placed out of harms way by the original finder)

5th December

(C) David Oakes 2016

untitled-1

4 thoughts on “A Winters day ….at last

  1. Gloves again! I am looking around when I ride my bike to the shops and yes, I see them. Adult gloes: lefthanded. Kids gloves: right handed. Tally sofar this year: 3 adult ones, 8 (!) kiddies ones). The mystery is alive and kicking. Maybe I can broaden it by putting the question on Twitter. Challenge a student maybe to do resaearch? 😀 LOL

    By the way, stunning wintery photo above. Where was the place in the top photo? It looks idyllic.

Comments are closed.