None too Sure…….Change again ?!!

DERBYSHIRE

Will WordPress be just another stone wall ?

All in all WORDPRESS provides a great service….and I also know we all jump when the familiar changes. It is also true that things progress, nothing stands still and change is inevitable.

But what I do find most irritating is logging on to find that the familiar has changed ….no advance warning, no explanation, nothing.

Change but please with some consultation…..seeking user views, prior to change, not after the event

Maybe for small changes we just shrug our shoulders and get on with it.

But today logging on to the Reader and the change is dramatic and to my mind a backward step.  The image selection is a random crop, apart from a headline there is no intro script.  Whilst it is true that that in the previous reader you only got a brief scrip extract, it was enough for the shorter editorial blogs…yet enough to either demand you open and read at once the longer blogs or bookmark for reading at your leisure.

PLEASE WordPress…Don’t be a Stone Wall, listen

Marks out of 10 for the new reader on my score is 2 out of 10.

15th December

(C) David Oakes 2016

9 thoughts on “None too Sure…….Change again ?!!

  1. Ugh, I hate when things change so dramatically, and unexpected. Sadly, they never listen to the little guys, you know, the people that actually use it.

  2. I’m glad you posted this. I agree with you. I posted a comment on their blog page about the change, but they haven’t taken it out of moderation (other comments posted after mine are visible).

    https://en.blog.wordpress.com/2016/12/14/reader-refresh-2017/

    My thoughts were that if we photobloggers have added a bit of text to accompany the photo, our images have been reduced to thumbnails – whereas if a photoblogger has added no text, their image is in the wider format. I said I thought we were being penalised for writing complementary text – which was a backward step.

  3. Totally agree with you David! I liked the last change, with photos you got a good look and a few words and could decide to look further or not, but this! this is nothing, it’s sort of a hash and doesn’t encourage looking at anything. It annoys me immensely.

Comments are closed.