Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge – The Road Taken

DERBYSHIRE

Rights of Way…..

Erected in 1964 this sign post marked a Public Footpath ….a public Right of Way.

Rights of way had for a long time ben a contentious issue, access to open land and moors restricted.  There were many a skirmish with land owners and their bailiffs but eventually the right of access was granted.  Even today in parts of our countryside, and despite the introduction of improved access laws, there are still areas which are disputed.

The Right to Roam over open countryside was just as big a social rebellion as the Industrial Revolution uprisings……rebellions by the so called ‘working class’ against the gentry!

My submission for this weeks DP Photo Challenge

via Photo Challenge: The Road Taken

Location:- The Goyt Valley on the moorlands along Cheshire/ Derbyshire border

3rd March                     David Oakes

(C) David Oakes 2017

6 thoughts on “Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge – The Road Taken

  1. I do remember having watched a documentatry about the Ramblers and their desire to walk everywhere. I thought it was quite epic. http://www.ramblers.org.uk/about-us/our-history.aspx
    As for me… your photos are my view on a beautiful landscape in a beautiful country as my health does not allow me anymore to visit all these precious sites. Thank you so much. I do enjoy your photos very much.

    • Your always very welcome Lydia….very pleased they give you some pleasure, particularly if your weather is like we have here in the UK….. dark and very wet with no improvement promised for a few days.

      • Some pleasure is an understatement, David. Your site is the first I visit before I start with a part of my volutary work: looking messages and links about tennants and sociale housing. I am on the board of the Tennants committee here and I log on to Twitter where I find loads of information that could be useful for us. This is a reading job I can do. 😀

  2. Interesting – and beautiful shot. Allemansrätten in Sweden: The freedom to roam, or everyman’s right is the general public’s right to access certain public or privately owned land for recreation and exercise. The right is sometimes called the right of public access to the wilderness or the right to roam.

  3. I love the history behind these footpaths and the Ramblers victory in keeping them open for all to use.

Comments are closed.