Wordless Wednesday….Another Favourite Place

Icelandic Dawn

Location:- Dawn, Eyjafjordur after leaving Akureyri, Iceland

4th July

(C) David Oakes 2018


The Cotswolds…. A Country House



Chedworth Roman Villa

The Cotswold is real Farming Country, flowing estates of arable crops dotted with sheep and cattle. But it has also become the mecca of ” Second Homes” ..the must be location for Celebrities, Broadcasters, Bankers and Politicians rich enough to climb the social ladder.

But this is nothing new. The Romans started the fashion of second homes just like here at Chedworth, a particularly large Roman Villa.

A chance discovery of floor tiles…. “tesserae”  in 1864, together with a substantial amount of money and time by Lord Eldon resulted in the excavation of the foundations of a this large villa complex.  There are some mosaic floors (now well protected from the weather), Bath Houses, living and entertaining quarters for the Roman Noble, his family and of course his supporting staff.  Life was luxurious compared with the ‘Brits’ of the forth century.  Underfloor heating…hypocaust in the main villa and bath houses helped.

Why build here.  well its surrounded by trees in a wooded valley but perhaps it was the natural spring which the Romans revered as a Nymphaeum and a place to be worshiped.


Now before well explore the site let me explain.  The Villa that is rather Tudor like only dates back to the late 1800’s. It was built by Eldon to house artefacts discovered during the excavations and today it is still a museum.


 A chance find beneath these English meadows and an insight into 4th century Roman Life…. and proving there is nothing new in life


3rd July

(C) David Oakes 2018


A Different Season but just as lovely….

_DOI7831_00176qqWestonbirt Arboretum

Autumn is the time we normally visit Westonbirt for all the fantastic autumn colours..it is spectacular.  So a visit in high summer left us wondering just what we would see and feel (apart from hot!).

The main purpose of the visit was see the new Tree Top Walk, a magnificent structure that take you high up into the canopy…. and what a great experience it was to look down rather than up at all the majestic trees.


But it was really the wonderful collection of trees we had come to see. Pine, Cedar, Oak and Beech are perhaps the stars but there is much more to explore.  So take a shady walk with us…its cooler under the trees…


And Yes…you can get lost on all the trails but the map provided does help

Just as a reminder of the Autumn Colour to come and why we will be back here so here is an image from a previous year

Autumn Gold small

More from the Cotswold to follow (if we have a signal?

2nd July

(C) David Oakes 2018


All Change in the meadows….and Boy! is it hot



In the meadows the wild flowers are getting swamped by the meadow grasses… mind you the insects are loving it, all the warm weather and lots of nectar about.

Looking more closely deep down in the grass we can now find Orchids hiding there talents…. delicate and beautifully shaped…


Over the lake there is a haze coming off the water in the mornings heat.  One thing seems apparent and that it is far too hot for any fishermen…



31c this afternoon…OK., that may not be hot by some folks standards but here in middle England…that’s is HOT !

26th June

(C) David Oakes 2018